Buckle Down: How I Manage My Attention

 In class we have been discussing various theories about attention management, by authors such as Rheingold and Stone, but I still think that, sometimes, the simple answer is the best.

In the age of limitless distractions I find myself aware of what needs to be done, not because of a handy time management tool, or because of a lack of interest in the outside world, but because I had attention issues before the Internet. As a child my first grade teacher  would tell my mother, on a regular basis, that I needed to be on Ritalin. My mother would barely let me take Tylenol, and she said that aspirin could kill you before you turned 21, so there was not much of a chance that I was going on a mind altering drug of any kind.

Instead, she told me I had to buckle down. Not literally, of course, but mentally. She said that she understood that I was a kid, but she told me that if I did not do as I was supposed to; I would be punished. However, she did not plan on beating  me, as long as I did not do anything too crazy, but rather rewarding me when I did the right thing. This, of course, did not make my teacher too happy, so the easy answer was to transfer me to a different class. My second first grade teacher did not think I was so bad, because there were some real heathens in her class, so I was ranked average to good. 

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t hold my original first grade teachers frustrations against her; in a world where there is a pill that can, supposedly, fix almost anything, how could you, but I do think that sometimes we just need to be told to buckle down. It is not as though I do not get distracted, because I put on the mental buckles, but I am able to work non-stop on a task until it is done, and often times, to this day, I still tell myself time to buckle down and get it done.

Special Thanks to vichie81 for the awesome picture.

About dmtyner

I'm a full time college student at UTD. This is my first blog.

2 Responses to “Buckle Down: How I Manage My Attention”

  1. I would recommend trying to give the reader a better idea of Rheingold’s perspective — just a sentence summing up his position. You might also try to link to studies or experts who support your POV.

    • I will do that. Sometimes I just get too concerned with what I want to say, and don’t keep making it make sense in the forefront of my mind. Thank you for the comment.

Leave a Reply

